An official date for the shutdown of Google+ is April 2nd, 2019. This means that on 2 April, your Google+ account and Google+ pages that you have created will be shut down and as a result, will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. In addition, Photos and videos from Google+ in your album archive will also be deleted. You can download and save your content, but make sure that you do this before April.

Reasons to Shut Down Google+

Listening to employees and not customers

Google’s consistent approach to social isn’t fun. It’s no secret that Google+ is only the most recent of Google’s embarrassing succession of failures in social media. The assumption of Google+, like Google PowerMeter and Google Health, is that users would simply enjoy spending time organizing their information. However, geeks may like organizing their information but normal people don’t. It keeps making the same mistake over and over again, mainly because it listens to its employees rather than its customers.

Data Breach

Data breach is also one of the reasons that led to the shutdown of Google+. More than 500,000 accounts had their personal and confidential information illegally shared without anyone’s consent. The most depressing part was Google didn’t disclose the news for several months, which left numerous profiles vulnerable.

Disastrous result in offering something new

Google chose to swim in a completely new area where there is less competition. The key to this approach is to determine a segment of consumers whose needs are not being met and generate more value for the segment. But Google missed this and was more focused on coming up with a thing that people didn’t want. The key is to shift from a focus on producing things to a focus on understanding and even delighting people.

Details about bug

Google+ API was not operating as intended. The bug impacted almost 52.5 million users in connection with Google+ API. Apps the requested permission to have a look at profile information that a user had added to the Google+ profile were granted permission even when the privacy was set to not public.

For anyone who is an active user of Google+, there isn’t long to say goodbye either.